Chiara  CalÚ 




Posted by Chiara CalÚ on January 12, 2019 at 1:35 PM

(5 stars/5) 

This must be *the best* speed metal album ever issued in the history of music.

Painkiller is the twelfth studio album by British heavy metal band Judas Priest, released in September 1990.

Incredibly intense from start to finish, you will find yourself unable to catch your breath (with the exception of "A Touch Of Evil", which is a bit slower).

The drummer, Scott Travis, joins the band for this album. Thanks to "Painkiller", he gets the chance to exhibit his artistic value. His sound reminds me of a tank platoon.

Rob Halford's voice is incredible. This is his last album with Judas Priest. He'll be back in 2005 for the recording of "Angel of Retribution".

The guitar riffs are amazing. There are many solos in this album.

I like the whole album, but "Metal Meltdown" and "Nightcrawler" are not an easy listening. I usually skip them to listen to my favorite track, "Between the Hammer & the Anvil".

"Painkiller" is a comeback album. After the lukewarm reception of "Turbo" (1986) and "Ram It Down" (1988), Judas Priest reappear in style, adding an important piece to the heavy metal landscape.

Track list:

1. "Painkiller"

2. "Hell Patrol"

3. "All Guns Blazing"

4. "Leather Rebel"

5. "Metal Meltdown"

6. "Night Crawler"

7. "Between the Hammer & the Anvil"

8. "A Touch of Evil"

9. "Battle Hymn"

10. "One Shot at Glory"

Length: 46:08

Genre: Heavy metal, speed metal

Label: Columbia


Listen to "Hell Patrol":

Categories: Music

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In